About Me

Welcome to my tiny corner of the internet!

A photo of a young women sitting in her wheelchair in front of a mural. The mural behind her has a blue background and, in the centre, angel wings made of daisies and blue flowers. The wings tips have leaves along their edges. The young girl sitting in her wheelchair with her arms up in the air, reaching for the angel wings. She is smiling. The  subject has blonde hair with pale skin and red lipstick. She is wearing a burgundy cardigan over a black and white striped peplum top and black leggings, and white sneakers. Her wheelchair is white and low-profile.

My name is Kathleen Elizabeth and I’m 22 years old. I was born and raised in a port city on the Atlantic coast in eastern Canada. I am a lover of many things, from science to art and anything in between. Mainly, I just really like to learn! My Myers-Briggs personality type is INFJ which I think fits me to a tee! I love to give back and advocate for causes I believe in.

In high school, I worked as an assistant to a wedding photographer, attending over 100 weddings. I was also very involved in school extracurriculars, joining every committee my school had to offer. After I graduated high school in 2014, I followed my love for the ocean all the way up the coast to Memorial University of Newfoundland where I was working towards a Bachelor of Science in behavioural neuroscience. My time at MUN also helped me grow an even bigger love for volunteerism and for giving back to the community. It was the experience of a lifetime and I am so glad I had the chance to do it.

Even though I am quite possibly one of the most clumsy people you will ever meet, I did taekwondo for over 10 years where I earned my second degree black belt. Though, in general, I suck at almost every sport (fun fact: I almost failed gym class once), that didn’t stop me from trying horseback riding as well which I ended up falling in love with. While in middle and high school, I rode for about 6 years. Not only do I love horses, I am a dog lover too. My family had always had dogs while I was growing up so, in August of 2017, I got my first dog, a CKC registered Standard Poodle named Theodore (Teddy) Graham.

Photo is of a young women sitting on a red couch. She has blonde hair and vintage cat-eye style glasses. She is holding a cream poodle puppy. They are both looking at the camera. The young women is wearing a dark burgundy sweater and navy and white striped shorts. Beside her on the couch, you can see a pink, blue, and yellow rope dog toy and grey blanket.

Throughout my life, I’ve been dealing with a genetic condition that I was diagnosed with in my late-teens called Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome Hypermobility Type. This condition results in weak collagen, the glue that holds you body together, and has caused my digestive tract to suck big time (gastroparesis and intestinal dysmotility), my body to be allergic to everything (Mast Cell Activation Disorder), and my autonomic nervous system to not work properly (Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome). Basically, my genetic mutation causes widespread issues but I am learning how to handle it the best with a great health care team.

When my symptoms got worse, it was decided that I needed to take a medical leave from school to take care of my body. During my down time the last few years, I’ve had the chance to rediscover my love for reading and have been devouring books almost as quickly as I devour episodes of my favourite shows. I also have a love of crafting and science as well as learning new art mediums and interior design. I also have a newfound love for writing, hence the inspiration for this blog! Now, I am doing school part-time (1 class at a time) online through an accredited university with the goal of eventually obtaining my Bachelor of Arts in Psychology and moving on to a Master’s in Counselling.

Though I can’t promise you any life changing advice or inspiration on this blog, I can promise to offer you a little insight on my unique life and to bring you along on my journey of discovering how to live my best life possible, limitations or none. I hope I can bring a bit of light, love, and craftiness to your life and inspire you to keep looking for happiness too.

A photo of a young women sitting in a beige bucket chair in the corner of a room with grey walls. She is smiling and looking off to the left, her dark blonde hair pulled into a low bun. She is wearing glasses. She is wrapped in a yellow crochet shawl over a white v-neck shirt with black writing with one arm resting on the armrest of the chair. On the wall behind her to the left, there is a big white wooden frame with a natural wood centre. In the frame is a photo of a girl holding a map infant of a foggy lake. Beside the frame are two small cross-stitches in hoops; one with a pink and a yellow llama standing between two green cacti. The other is of a green and a yellow unicorn with a rainbow above them. On the way to the right is a large dark brown wooden frame that is open. It has 3 lines of hemp strings with paper clips, each line with 2 black and white photography prints.

Let’s be friends!

Instagram: @kath_elizabeth

Facebook: Green Eggs & Spoons

Twitter: @kath_elizabeth

Email: katthebean@gmail[.]com

I can also be found on: The Mighty

Advertisements

8 thoughts on “About Me

  1. Jack Nielsen says:

    You do know someone indirectly from Norway. my Dad Alf Nielsen was a Norwegian from Sandefjord. I fortunately got to go there the day after your Mom and Dad’s wedding. As beautiful as you can imagine and as beautiful as you. Love Jack & Bette Nielsen

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s